Aside

I was working on the proof of one of my poems all the morning, and took out a comma. In the afternoon I put it back again.- Oscar Wilde

When, as an author you have written a story or a few pages as the mood strikes you, it is always best to let it rest awhile. When the time comes for editing or re- writing there are times when you change nearly everything, and times when as Oscar Wilde suggests you obsess over the use of a comma. Yes, in that a whole world of change is incorporated. We are obsessive, nocturnal creatures by nature and if you frighten us we run for the nearest escape route (critics beware we are a skittish lot) What you write ultimately reveals who you are.

With the upcoming NanoWrimo I am left feeling testy, nauseated and extremely nervous. I second guess myself at every turn. I have done a couple of tests runs and found to my utter astonishment that I am able to commit to the 1700 odd words a day. And what’s more get them written in 3 hours, if I apply myself. However, as all writers know the muse decides to run off with the postman or goes to Greece. In the blink of an eye she has made her escape to  leave you with the dreaded block. No crying or cajoling seems to reach her, alas.

So wish me luck as you wave me goodbye….what have I gotten myself into…HELP!

 

Writers- a funny lot

9 responses »

Leave a Reply

